our advertising disclaimer | Disclaimer - Must be read before using forum or clicking any links
Magnetic Exchange - exchange Liberty Reserve, Perfect Money, LiqPay, STP, EgoPay, Payza
TetraFunds.com
BlockDOS.net - DDOS Protected Web Hosting!
The same protection that Talkgold Uses! Starting at $400/month when you mention Talkgold! The most reliable DDOS protection online!
Buy Cheap HYIP Traffic
Buy Cheap High Quality Traffic for your HYIP, Doubler, or website!
Put your banner or text in the rotation above!ONLY $17/day, $99/week, or $379/month!


All banners and links On Talkgold are advertisements only. We do not endorse or vouch for any advertiser's claims. Use Extreme Caution & perform your own due diligence before sending money to anyone!Put Your 728X90 Banner Here NOW!
Go Back   Talkgold HYIP, Investment & Money Forum > Caution : Risky High Yield Investing Programs > General Program Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

From Wikipedia - HYIP monitors
  #1  
Old 12-16-2006, 07:28 AM
Nate_S's Avatar
Nate_S Nate_S is offline
Senior Investor
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 905
Question From Wikipedia - HYIP monitors

HYIP monitors

HYIP monitors, or HYIP listing/rating sites, are websites that list and/or promote HYIPs for referral commissions. The monitor charges each HYIP a listing fee which is usually then invested into that program, although there exist free listings and occasionally monitors which invest their own money. The monitor then labels the HYIP as "Paying" or "Not paying"/"Scam" depending on whether interest is received within the terms specified by the program. Monitors also allow other HYIP investors to rate and comment on the programs, based on factors such as promptness of payouts and responsiveness of the HYIP administrator. Programs with higher ratings achieve higher rankings on the monitor sites, which coupled with a "Paying" status may entice more investors who rely on the monitor. Therefore it is in the best interests of HYIP administrators to maintain good ratings.

However, sometimes HYIPs only pay monitor sites to keep their "Paying" status visible, but do not pay other investors. Also, programs can appear to be reliable at first, raising their ranking on monitors to attract more deposits, then turn into a scam. As HYIP monitors are not affiliated with the HYIPs themselves, they are unable to prevent investors from being scammed; they neither help to recover lost funds nor track down the scammers, even though promoting and perpetuating Ponzi schemes is a criminal offense punishable by jail terms or fines in most countries, instead placing disclaimers saying that they "do not promote the programs advertised on their website".

In order to generate a "Paying" status early (so that future visitors will see it) and maintain it for the longest possible time, newly opened HYIPs must list their site quickly as well as constantly pay monitors their interest on time. Added to the fact that many monitors just invest the listing "fee", and that a commission is received on each deposit made by investors who visit the HYIP through the monitor, they are the most likely to profit even if/when a program turns into a scam or runs out of funds. Hence, normal investors are always the losers and a site with many monitors may actually not be as reliable as it seems.

HYIP owners can also manipulate monitors and forums, by paying people to comment positively or by using a range of IP addresses or proxy servers in different locations so that "paying" votes appear to come from around the world. This allows the HYIP to rise up the rankings more quickly than others, giving investors a false sense of security. Even though this is partly avoidable by relying on forum postings by well-known members, no indication is given of when the HYIP is likely to stop paying. Additionally, normal investors will also rate positively until the HYIP turns into a scam, and future scammers can also build up a good reputation on forums for a large payoff once most forum members trust them.

Some HYIP monitors also have discussion forums that facilitate recruitment of new investors into programs currently being promoted. These often contain many posts by cheerleaders or shills, who share a belief that HYIPs are good money-making opportunities as long as they pay, even if the administrator always intended to scam.

On the other hand, in order to combat HYIPs which only pay monitors, some monitors register with the HYIP using an unassuming name instead of the monitor's name, to ensure they are not paid simply because they are a monitor.

HYIPs indicted or under investigation

The following is a list of HYIP scams that are currently under investigation or have been successfully indicted in a court of law.

* 12DailyPro (United States - US Securities & Exchange Commission)
* Ginsystem Inc. (Singapore - Commercial Affairs Department of Singapore)
* Intellekt Kapital (Germany)
* IT4US (United States)[6]
* Omega Trust (United States)
* OSgold (Australia)[7]
* PIPS (Malaysia - see top of page)
* PlexPay (Norway)
* Profits4investingtoo ($800,000 stolen, US investigation)
* Solidinvestment (United States - WORLDLawDirect)
__________________
-----------------------------------------------
Tired of scams? = BetOnMarkets = YOURself.
-----------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote

Re: From Wikipedia - HYIP monitors
  #2  
Old 12-16-2006, 07:58 AM
emp3's Avatar
emp3 emp3 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 262
Default Re: From Wikipedia - HYIP monitors

Nice job Nate
Reply With Quote

Re: From Wikipedia - HYIP monitors
  #3  
Old 12-16-2006, 04:05 PM
ammoun's Avatar
ammoun ammoun is offline
"Talkgold's Best" Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: TalkGold ;)
Posts: 4,127
Default Re: From Wikipedia - HYIP monitors

You would rather put the direct link
__________________
www.StretchThatDollar.com
Frugal Shoppers, Bargain Hunters & More!
Reply With Quote

Re: From Wikipedia - HYIP monitors
  #4  
Old 12-17-2006, 08:04 PM
me222 me222 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5,029
Default Re: From Wikipedia - HYIP monitors

Quote:
The monitor charges each HYIP a listing fee which is usually then invested into that program, although there exist free listings and occasionally monitors which invest their own money.
Autosurfs.net is one of them. I am laughing at all those comment about free monitoring sites Vs the paid ones. Supposedly the latter are more trustworthy...
I've had a couple of admins asking if we charged a hidden fee as they couldn't believe it was totally free.
The ranking order is decided by the membership. Although we have a couple of rotten apples in the bag, I do think that the order at which the programs are listed is more or less justified.
I'm not even going to debate about Rankhyips.com, as there couldn't be a better/honest system.
Free monitoring services have a better chance to rate objectively IMO.
Reply With Quote

Re: From Wikipedia - HYIP monitors
  #5  
Old 12-18-2006, 12:45 AM
Nate_S's Avatar
Nate_S Nate_S is offline
Senior Investor
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 905
Default Re: From Wikipedia - HYIP monitors

I agree,
When monitors put their own money into programs, they obviously are doing some work selecting programs.
Unfortunately, many users DO NOT grasp this and often request expensive monitors to be on the site..., Sad.
P.S. Here is that link to Wikipedea:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HYIP

Quote:
Originally Posted by me222
Autosurfs.net is one of them. I am laughing at all those comment about free monitoring sites Vs the paid ones. Supposedly the latter are more trustworthy...
I've had a couple of admins asking if we charged a hidden fee as they couldn't believe it was totally free.
The ranking order is decided by the membership. Although we have a couple of rotten apples in the bag, I do think that the order at which the programs are listed is more or less justified.
I'm not even going to debate about Rankhyips.com, as there couldn't be a better/honest system.
Free monitoring services have a better chance to rate objectively IMO.
__________________
-----------------------------------------------
Tired of scams? = BetOnMarkets = YOURself.
-----------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


TALKGOLD
SIDEBAR ADS

ADVERTISE HERE. Must read: Advertising Terms & Disclaimer
PUT YOUR 120X120 AD HERE FOR ONLY $400/WEEK!
Click Here for details.
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $390
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $390
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $380
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $380
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $350
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $350
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $310
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $310
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $300
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $135/week
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $135/week
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $125
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $125
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $125
Your Ad Here Cost of Ad - $125
YOUR AD HERE

PUT YOUR NON-ROTATING AD HERE NOW!
ONLY $125/Week


Your Ad Here for $85/week or $325/month

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Protected by BlockDOS.net - DDOS Protection
Forum by: vBulletin - Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.